Duplication issue complicates Google Places upgrade
Google has recently been upgrading local businesses to the new Google Places dashboard.
However, it has run into a problem caused by older duplicate Google Places listings, which is preventing the upgrade from being completed.
Google has requested that users fix the duplications so that improvements can be finalised. It has emailed users, instructing them to log into their Google Places accounts and review any listings flagged as problematic. Google has also requested that users repair any issues and re-submit the details.
Google is also helping users to repair issues by providing them with information on forums. On the Google Product forum, community manager for Google+ Local Jade Wang has offered advice to users who have been notified that "Google Places no longer accommodates more than one authorized owner per business location. Your account contains one or more listings that have been identified as duplicates of other listings and as a result, some of the information you provide will not be shown to Google users anymore."
What has caused the duplications?
Google's Jade Wang has also outlined the two main scenarios which have led to duplicate business listings, which are:
- If a user's account and another account that they don't control are both verified for the same business from the old Places dashboard. For example, if two or three people in a business verify the organisation from different accounts.
- If a user has been verified for the same business a number of times from multiple accounts that they control.
Daniel Nolan, managing director at theEword, said: "Whether or not you have received an email from Google, you may want to log in and double check your accounts to make sure that your listings are not duplicated."